ARCASHA

H E G



Can't get out of this retro loop!

September 04, 2001 - 19:38

Man, what�s up with pop culture. No one seems to be doing anything new. Britney Spears, Alley McBeal, The Chrysler PT Cruiser...DISCO!!! Radio�s playing all the same crap I was listening to when I was a kid...in the 60's!

Don�t get me wrong, I didn�t think it was crap when I was a kid. It was all new and inventive and rebellious and fresh back then. But come on, let�s get over it. Just because my generation has huge buying power doesn�t mean we have to rehash it to friggin� death.

Apparently we�re going through a retro period now. We�ve never been out of retro. Just watch TV. How many versions of Law and Order can we stand. And what�s with all the game (�reality�) shows. Music seems to suck more than ever what with pop divas and boy bands. How can you be a band if no one plays an instrument? Maybe it�s just because I live in the boonies but I�m not hearing anything new.

Even cars are going retro with the new Mini coming out and that death trap VW beetle. Architecture is retro, clothes, movies. The best movie out this summer was a re-release of Apocalypse Now. Even A.I. was a ripoff of Pinnochio.

I really hope the echo generation comes along and blows the doors off of pop culture. They�re our only hope. Right now, if it weren�t for the Internet and homosexuality (no I�m not gay) we�d just shrivel up and die.

Anyway...That�s my rant for the week. I�ll be better next time.

Arc

previous - next

Site 
Meter


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at 

DiaryLand.com!