ARCASHA

H E G



Same Old, Same Old

December 06, 2001 - 19:56

I�m just entering my third month of a three-month contract. The company that I�m working for is about to jump over a cliff. More specifically, they�re gonna be hit by a technician�s strike. From all indications, it�ll be a long one.

Ya know�I just don�t get it. Nowadays when there�s so much talent being let go in the tech sector, when we�ve got people shooting at each other overseas, airliners full of people are flying into buildings full of people, you�d think people would have a different perspective over conflict situations. But no�it�s still the same old game that�s been played for decades.

It�s always been thus. Contract between union and company is about to expire. Union gets big strike vote in order to have a better bargaining position. Company is in slowdown mode and indicates dire financial situation. Parties at opposite ends. Deadlines come and go and no-one budges. Before you know it, people who really don�t give a flyin� about the outcome are standing out on the street carrying signs. At Christmas time, no less. What a stupid game.

In this case, the battle is going to be over whether 1% of the workforce should get double time or time and a half on their second day off.

Sheesh !!

Actually, it�s a little more complicated than that but I don�t want to inflict the mind numbing details on you right now.

So my contract may be suspended for a few months. That�s OK I guess. I�ll be able to set up a trip to Panama to finish my project down there. I can check in on Juan and see if he can walk after rolling that Toyota.

I must admit�I�ve been a tad lazy lately. I really should be looking for some new clients. I just keep gravitating to the same ones � the ones I know. Then when they get into trouble, I�m out of a gig.

Gotta do something about that.

Arc

previous - next

Site 
Meter


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at 

DiaryLand.com!