ARCASHA

H E G



What the heck is a Canadian anyway?

December 07, 2001 - 17:12

How�s it goin�, eh?

You can always tell a Canadian by the way he/she says �eh� at the end of a sentence. We�re world famous for it. It�s the one thing that distinguishes us from Americans. Actually, it�s not as common a phenomenon as most people think but I don�t want to ruin a perfectly good stereotype.

Another thing we do that�s fairly typical is to criticize Americans. It�s really how we define ourselves I guess. We�re Canadian because we�re not American. Makes us feel superior.

Actually I think were just an insecure little nation that�s vying for attention in the shadow of a country that�s got ten times as many people in it. By running down our cousins to the south, maybe we�ll be heard. Doesn�t work, of course.

Sometimes I feel like I live in Liliput.

Don�t get me wrong, there�s lots to run down about that big overbearing southern neighbour � guns, greed, gluttony. But there�s an equal amount to run down about us petty little northerners as well.

You certainly hear a lot less trash talk about the US since September eleventh, though. Suddenly we�re all �in it� together. A thing like the AOA really shoves things into perspective. We�re also just a bit sheepish and defensive over how lightly we�ve been taking global threats. We just don�t take those things � or ourselves for that matter - very seriously.

Here�s to yet another new world order.

Arc

previous - next

Site 
Meter


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at 

DiaryLand.com!