ARCASHA

H E G



The other America

January 20, 2002 - 12:42

Hoakey doodle. I just got the itinerary for my trip to Ecuador. It�s gonna be a long day.

I leave Toronto in mid-February at 09:35. That�s reasonable enough, I guess, but it only goes as far as Newark. I hang around there for four hours (ghastly airport, bye the way) and then I fly off to Bogota, Columbia of all places. Oh well, I�ve always wondered what a war zone looked like. Not much of a wait there, thank God, but I land in Quito, Ecuador around mid-night.

Landing in Quito is tricky on a clear day, let alone at night. Quito is built in a valley, high in the Andes where the atmosphere is thin. The city is completely surrounded by mountains. The Airport is right downtown and it�s surrounded by high-rise office and apartment buildings. It�s best to close one�s eyes on landing or takeoff.

My trip is a bit easier on the way back, though. I have a quick direct flight from Quito to Panama City, hang around there for a few days and then, on the 22nd of February, I fly home. There�s a stop-over in Houston for a few hours and then back to the Great White North to be with luvofmylife again. I�m a bit nervous about that stop in Houston, though. I haven�t flown internationally since 9-11 and I have to change terminals there. Well, there�s lots of time so it should be OK.

Anyway�

That was a pretty boring entry. I�ll do better next time.

Arc

previous - next

Site 
Meter


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at 

DiaryLand.com!