ARCASHA

H E G



H-Town Ghetto

January 29, 2002 - 14:53

Life is moving along quite nicely today. Girlofmydreams punched a big smile on my face the size of a horseshoe. Yyummmy!

I�ve spent most of the day moving from one office to another. It�s a good thing I pack light. It seems like I have to move every couple of weeks lately. That�s one of the downsides of being on contract, I guess. I figure that if I keep myself nice and compact, though, I�ve got a pretty long term gig over here.

I can�t remember. Did I talk about my short visit to H-Town on the weekend?

Luvofmylife and I decided to hunt around H-Town for the day just to get the feel of the place. We�re looking to get a little closer to Big-Town �cause that�s where all the work is, at least in our fields. Trouble is, everyone else wants to live in Big-Town too. Property prices are utterly outrageous. And there�s next to nothing to rent. Condo�s are in such demand that builders can paste any price they want on those things. No one�s building any rental apartments any more � no profit in that � and old buildings are being converted.

So�we went to H-Town on Saturday. There�s one area that�s reasonably attractive. Lot�s of apartments, services and some really cute brick houses. It�s situated right at the base of what they call a mountain. The mouintain�s about a two hundred-foot rise on the escarpment. There�s an express train that starts right next to this area and it takes people right into downtown Big-Town in about fifty minutes. That�s about an hour better than what I�m traveling now.

However, H-Town is a dump. There�s a theory that since Big-Town is growing so big and so rapidly that H-Town�ll become theee place to be in the near future. I�ll believe that when I see it. There are some beautiful old buildings in the downtown but they�re all empty and really run down. I don�t mind a seedy main street � quite like it, in fact - but this looks like a war zone. The street is a long string of cheesy shops, stripper bars and taverns. There are sooo many taverns. Everyone IN this town must spend all their time in taverns.

We went onto the �mountain� to get a good look at the place from above. Doesn�t look too bad from up here, except for that big scar on the east side where all the steel mills are.

I dunno�gonna have to talk to someone that lives here to find the good spots to live. It�s hard to imagine giving up life among the fruit groves for this. Maybe we�ll rent and keep our house. Rent IT out, maybe.

Maybe

Arc

previous - next

Site 
Meter


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at 

DiaryLand.com!