ARCASHA

H E G



Pee Wee

February 17, 2002 - 18:41

I finally got to see my sister this weekend. She only lives about a two hour drive from here but between our schedules, I only get to see her a couple of times a year.

My sister is a hockey mom, something that surprises even her. My nephew is one of those kids that are highly competitively driven. He has to win. So when he got into hockey, my sister was really worried. This game can be rough. But she�s hung in there and now he�s playing in the top of his division.

She gets to take her young son � he�s fourteen years old � to hockey games and tournaments around the province. She and the rest of the moms stand around freezing their tushs in cheesy little hockey arenas to cheer on their little Gretsky�s. And then it�s back on the team bus and off to the next town.

So Luvofmylife and I went to the tournament near our house to see him play in some regional pee-wee playoff. It�s a best of seven series. There was my sister, wrapped up in a parka with a big vat of stale but hot coffee in her hand. And that was in the lobby. We went into the arena just before the game started where it was really cold.

I haven�t been to a hockey game in a long, long time. I think the last time I saw a game was when there was still an NHL team in Winnipeg. That was when Temuu Selanne was playing for the Jets and I think they were playing against the LA Kings. It was a pretty good game but large arena crowds and the way people are so crammed together in those places is pretty obnoxious. The guy next to me was majorly beer soaked and had mind-numbing B.O.

I�ve seen my brother play in an old timers game in my home town but I haven�t seen pee-wee since I was a kid. I was amazed yesterday. That was a serious hockey game. Yes, the ice is smaller than in the NHL bye a long shot and the periods are five minutes shorter. But those kids are playin� for keeps. This is the top of the pee-wee level in Ontario so I guess I shouldn�t be surprised.

The skating was fast � full bore. Those kids maneuvered around the ice like pros. And checking!! Bodies were flying around like on the beech at Normandy during WWII - it�s war out there. Unfortunately, our team lost. They were dealing with a double penalty and the poor little goalie, as talented as he was, couldn�t hold off two goals. Too bad but my nephew scored a goal, though. So all was not lost.

That�s where Canada�s hopes for retaining that game lie. No trash-talk on the part of players or parents. Just great hard hitting hockey. Who knows, I may become a fan again.

Arc

previous - next

Site 
Meter


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at 

DiaryLand.com!