ARCASHA

H E G



Rambling

March 03, 2002 - 11:30

It was a pretty good day yesterday, all things being equal. I didn�t get a whole lot done�still haven�t started that painting and I�m afraid the image is beginning to fade. I usually need to do things like that right away or else I lose interest. Gonna have to do something about my natural tendency to procrastinate.

Girlofmydreams and I finally understand each other, I think. I'm pretty sure I�ve been able to convince her that I love her and why. I�m not sure if she believes me but I hope it�ll put an end to some of our misunderstandings, at least. I think she believes that I believe what I believe but that I�m somehow mistaken in my belief. Know what I mean?

Well�she�ll learn that I don�t just throw my love around. I�ve only ever loved Luvofmylife and her. EVER! So I know what I feel. Anyway, enough mit the riddles, already.

We rented a movie called 1900 last night with Tim Roth. It�s about a guy who was born in the first month of 1900 on an Ocean Liner, was orphaned, and spent his entire life on board. It�s a very touching film and a bit depressing�well a lot, really�but I loved it. The story is very fable-like but they really pulled it off. It was an Anglo-Italian production. The musical score was by Ennio Morricone, so that alone can put a lump in my throat. You might want to rent it sometime.

I got myself into a bit of a funk yesterday because I was listening to Leonard Cohen�s �Ten New Songs� and Barber�s �Addagio for Strings� and then the movie and they�re all just a bit sombre. My favourite cut on Lenny�s album right now is called �Here It Is�. It�s got a moody slow rock to it that just screams Montreal to me � that subtle European flavour, you know? That album is really growing on me.

I�m in to work tomorrow and Tuesday and then I take Wednesday to prep for Ecuador/Panama. I think this thing will finally get off the ground this time. I won�t really believe it �til I get on the plane but after a year of false starts, I think it�ll finally happen.

We�re going to Northern Ecuador to start a new project to re-engineer a community radio station from the ground up � programming, training, staffing, technology and work methods. We just finished a similar project in Panama last year and I�ll be going there after Ecuador to mop that one up.

It�s interesting work because these projects aren�t in any cities. They�re usually in sparsely populated indigenous regions where you find very few services. Our production centre in Panama, for example, has no electricity or phones. We had to install our own solar electrical system to handle computerized audio production load.

The settings are fantastic too. Really picturesque. I should really get myself a small digital camera.

Well, I�ve babbled on long enough.

A la prochaine

Arc

previous - next

Site 
Meter


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at 

DiaryLand.com!