ARCASHA

H E G



Another Day

April 24, 2002 - 22:31

The train pulls out of the station at a quarter to six, like it does every night, on the two-hour journey home. I�m peering at my PDA, writing my goals and objectives and action plans, tapping the tiny keyboard on the screen with the tip of my stylus while the train jostles from side to side. As I compose, I�m thinking about how the scheduling system that�s being implemented isn�t nearly ready and that we need to change so many processes to make it work. And then I�m thinking of how completely disorganized our programmers are that they can�t seem to give us the information we need to get people paid. And then I�m thinking that I need to get that information from Israel really soon so I can buy them an armoured car because we don�t want to have a dead reporter on our hands. And then I�m thinking that anything I�ve done to date is going to fall apart while I�m off recovering from my head operation.

Then I look up from my PDA and out the window of my rail car and I realize it�s still sunny out and it�s about seven o�clock and the sky is clear blue. We�re past all the suburbs bye now, into the countryside where the fruit trees are blossoming. The peach groves are throwing bright pink blankets over the landscape like some bizarre quilt. The apricot trees are sprouting creamy white flowers. We zip past stands of evergreens separating the rows and rows of grapevines.

The scene looks like a photo negative with these strange temporary colours. The deciduous trees, Oak, Elm, Maple, still haven�t sprouted their leaves. The earth is tan in some places, black in others. The late afternoon light is casting long shadows and high contrasts on the buildings. Everything is bathed in ochre light.

The knots along my spine are beginning to loosen. My shoulders are starting to relax. The swirl on my forehead is beginning to disappear. I close the PDA. I lower my seat and lay back in it and I gaze at the scene scroll bye outside the window. I�ll be home with Luvofmylife in a half-hour. We�ll cuddle and I�ll fall asleep on her shoulder.

Arc

previous - next

Site 
Meter


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at 

DiaryLand.com!