ARCASHA

H E G



The Pitts

April 30, 2002 - 21:07

We left Niagara yesterday at 10:00 am. We left at 10:00 am because Luvofmylife hadn't packed the night before. Then we had to go to her office BECAUSE...because we had to drop off some stuff that should have been left the day before. Then we had to post some bills so we needed to stop off at the post office. Then we had'a get gas and on and on.

I know this to be true and I'm not terribly proud of it, but I'm growing less and less patient as I get older. So I was pretty grumpy when we finally hit the road.

The trip through the border and through Buffalo went surprisingly well. I was expecting a hassle at the post Sept. 11th U.S. border but I guess I'm just not all that threatening. And...I always get lost in Buffalo. I can be within 30 miles of that friggin' place and I still get lost in that town.

Three hours later, though, we got totally screwed around in downtown Pittsburgh. I guess they're rebuilding a couple of bridges that are closed so the place is a disaster area. Anyway, I guess it wasn't that bad because it only took us fifteen minutes to get back on track.

We found the hotel pretty easily and it's nice. Got a big room on the "executive" floor. Woowoo! Means we get the use of an executive lounge and we have little executive housecoats and executive shampoo and stuff. I guess the free parking is a perk.

The location is great, though. We're right on the University campus. The meat shop (hospital) is only about four blocks away so I can walk to the hospital. I love the architecture on this campus, though. I'm gonna try to take some pictures if it can ever stop raining around here.

Today was a long day, however. I traveled from one lab to another all day long. I've been poked and prodded and taped and untaped and buzzed. I've had so much blood sucked from my viens that I feel like a vampire.

I had a lot of fun in the audio lab, though. It was the most familliar environment there. The place was a lot like a radio studio.

I really didn't like the nose and throat guys. They shoved a TV camera up my nose and down to my throat. They also made me watch it on the monitor. Geeeeeross! I won't post that pic.

Apparently, the incision behind my ear will be shaped like a hockey stick. I'm thinking of asking for a little maple leaf tatto right next to it. Wad'ya think?

I've only got one test tomorrow. So we'll have one last day before the operation. The odds of a successful operation seem to be improving since the literature was written. They've gone up to 90%. I'm liking that. Unfortunately, they will be snipping one small tributary nerve. Apparently, I'll lose some sense of taste and my eyes won't tear up as much as before. That's OK 'cause I've been tearing up way too much lately. And some people might say I've already got pretty bad taste. ;)

Well...stay tuned

Arc

previous - next

Site 
Meter


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at 

DiaryLand.com!