ARCASHA

H E G



Life Change, Pt. 1

May 18, 2002 - 17:17

It was the fall of 1976. She had just joined our company as the new music production assistant. The old one had just gotten a new job as music producer in another larger city. So she was the replacement. She had just come from a job as departmental assistant to a minister of the crown but she had spent a couple of summers as record librarian in our company. Her new job made more sense for her since she had a degree in music - more sense than working for politico�s, anyway. So, she was no stranger to most of the staff except me. Her stints at our place were long before I showed up on the premises.

I, on the other hand, had just gotten back from working the Montreal Olympics in the fall of �76. I was working for the host broadcaster there and was flush with cash and just a bit of attitude. Actually, the only reason I�d returned was for a promotion to a job in master control. To this day, I have no idea why that job merited a higher rating. There was nothing to do except watch monitors all the time. I lasted four months before I started screaming my head off. Well, I didn�t really scream my head off, but I did voice my opinion about what a crappy job it was.

Lucky for me, my good friend the recording engineer for music had just decided to quit and he ran off to another city to build his own recording studio. I had shown a little promise in this kind of job so I was given a couple of gigs to show what I was made of. I passed the test and was assigned as the new recording engineer in early December.

I first met her at the company Christmas party. There were a lot of shenanigans and horsing around but eventually, someone introduced me to her as the person I was going to be working with.

She was cute. Christ, she was cute. She was five foot nothin�, dressed very business-like and had a serious air of class. I was a bit blotto so I had absolutely no class. The first thing that grabbed me were her eyes. Well�don�t they always? She had sleepy, slutty, slitty little eyes with those sweet little bags under them that cute girls have. They were capped by high boomerang eyebrows that made me week in the knees - they still do. She had a beautiful round face with a tiny little chin and short blonde hair that curled inward at the tips.

But the kicker was her Hollywood smile. She had and still has the most spectacular natural smile you�ll ever see. Only back then, the corners of her mouth made a slight upturn. God, she was cute.

She was also sassy. I loooove sassy women. I was introduced to her as the new engineer, to which she replied, �Well, hi there. So how are your knobs�. Then she just walked away with that little grin on her face. When I regained consciousness......

I didn�t think I had much of a chance with her, however. She was too classy, too smart, she was my age � too old. And besides, how on earth would a woman like that allow herself to be seen in public with a guy like me? I think I even recommended her to my roommate who was older. He just said she wasn�t his type. I guess he didn�t like sassy as much as I did.

Anyway, we spent a lot of time on the road and in studio together and I grew to like her quite a lot. It wasn�t love or anything but we became very good friends. This was soon to change, however.

�To be continued.

previous - next

Site 
Meter


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at 

DiaryLand.com!