ARCASHA

H E G



Showtime

June 03, 2002 - 16:20

Ack!

Head�s still leakin�.

Oh well, I see the doc tomorrow, so I hope he�ll have some answers. God, I hope he doesn�t have to go back in there.

I�ve barely seen Luvofmylife for the past two weeks. She�s been working on her big annual fund-raiser since we got back. She�s hasn�t had a day off in about 16 days and, last week, worked �til midnight every night. I hate when that happens.

This past weekend was good, though. A good movie weekend.

On Friday night, Luvofmylife came home with a DVD and a pizza. Her fund-raiser was over. The movie was "Vanilla Sky", an American remake of a film by Spanish director Alejandro Amenbar called "Abre Los Ojos". "Vanilla Sky" stars Tom and Penelope and it's directed by Cameron Crowe. Now, I was all set not to like this film. I�m not a big fan of Tom Cruise. That vapid smile of his loses all credibility with me. However, that ditzy personality fits his role so I was willing to go along. There�s a major event that takes place in the film that changes everything. He handles it with depth and understanding to the point that I�m really impressed with his performance in this.

More over, it�s the way this movie is crafted that got to me. The light, the editing and, jeez, the story are just brilliant. It�s a bit "out there" and I like films like that. It reminds me somewhat of "The Fisher King� and I love that movie. I love this movie too but I suspect "Abre Los Ojos" is better so we�ll have to rent that next.

Then, on Saturday night we went to the new Star Wars extravaganza. I liked it well enough. I may just be getting jaded, though. There were lots of battle and chase scenes and they were great. But I just can�t warm up to the characters in this new batch of films. The first trilogy had characters that connected with the audience and each other. These folks are soooo self-absorbed.

I have to agree with Angelbutt about Aniken. I mean, teenage angst is hard to take at the best of times, but teenage angst on an intergalactic scale is friggin� intolerable. I just wanted to slap that pissy little Jedi across the back of the head. Anyway, he�ll be the uber-villain soon so I guess it�s ok that he pisses us all off.

Last night, we rented "The Others". I�d heard this was a good movie and I wasn�t disappointed. And guess what! It�s directed by Alejandro Amenbar. This film was very Hitchcock-like in the way it handled suspense. I loved the whole premise of the story and Nicole Kidman delivered a great performance. This is another movie I loved.

Both "Vanilla Sky" and "The Others" DVD�s are very well packaged with lots of great added content - not just a bunch of trailers but there are documentaries and picture galleries and sound tracks. Great stuff.

Aside from the movies, I bought a gas-powered weed-whacker on Saturday so I spent the day whacking the yard (it�s a half-acre). I think I may have overdone it, though. I can�t understand why this recovery thing is taking so long. Maybe it�s because I�m watching too many movies.

Arc

previous - next

Site 
Meter


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at 

DiaryLand.com!