ARCASHA

H E G



Better Read Than Dead

June 27, 2002 - 19:57

I'm not reading nearly as much as I used to and that's starting to bug me. When I first started these interminable commutes on the train a couple of years ago, I'd buy books, three or four at a time. The hour and a half, spent each way on the train was like entering a different world.

I got to know people in a different time and completely different cultures. I used to hate finishing a novel because I'd grown so attached to those characters.

Now I'm completely absorbed and pre-occupied by technology. I spend way too much time on the cell phone and I'm way too absorbed during my commutes writing reports or diary entries, as I'm doing right now, on my PDA. Then I waste the rest of the trip playing games.

I don't think it's a bad thing to write on a trip. It's just that I miss reading is all. I have a half dozen books that I've started and never finished. Right now I'm reading a novel called "Ice Lake" by John Farrow. It's a reeeally well written detective novel based in Montreal. Don't laugh! This is not some cheap dime novel. I've read the prequel to this one called "City of Ice". That book was brilliant.

Anyway, I started it a couple of months ago, but I'm always too whacked to read further.

Maybe I should turn off th Tee Vee.

Arc

previous - next

Site 
Meter


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at 

DiaryLand.com!