ARCASHA

H E G



Hot Balls

June 30, 2002 - 21:36

We got up this morning to catch the tail end of the World Cup soccer final on TV. It�s a big deal in Canada. Unlike the US, we don�t just tune out of global events just because we�re not in them. We were gonna get up earlier to watch the whole game but we stayed up too late last night. That�s what happens on weekends.

We usually go out to a little local breakfast place on Sundays only today, we went straight from there to the Toronto Skydome. Luvofmylife has wanted to go to a Blue Jays game for quite a while now. We usually go two or three times a year, except that this is Canada Day weekend and the Blue Jays play the Expos in interleague play this weekend. This year�s especially important because it may be the last we see of the Montreal Expos. They�re finally going to fall prey to the Yankee buck and leave Canada.

So it was an all-Canadian ball game. Actually, there isn�t a single Canadian on either team but the illusion keeps us happy.

Personally, I would much rather have watched the game from the comfort of my couch and let gravity lull me into the horizontal position. Instead, we spent a hundred bucks to sit a few rows up from behind home plate. The roof was open and it was a hot sunny day. It was like the inside of a solar cooker in there. Fuck it was hot.

But, Luvofmylife gets what she wants. I�m serious. She�s not a demanding person so if she says she wants to sweat at the bottom of a giant bowl watching grown men in their P.J.�s scratching their nuts for three hours, then so be it. Actually, the Jays won and, heat aside, it was a lot of fun.

We�ve been to quite a few games over the years but today, I realized that what I was watching had nothing to do with sport. It�s purely entertainment. Duh, you say! There�s the big giant screen, the shapely little cheerleaders, the mascots, the bad food, the bad beer, the military paratroopers with the Canadian flag parachutes landing on the big yellow X in mid-field, the fireworks when Carlos hits the home run and�oh yeah�there�s a baseball game.

So our guys won. Then we went down to Harbourfront. There was a weekend craft market at Harbourfront Centre so we took that in. There�s a great outdoor stage overlooking the lake just around the corner from the market and there were some really good entertainers on stage. It was a Women in Music mini-festival, I guess.

This is what I absolutely love about living in the city. There�s just all this stuff going on. Actually, while we were watching the ball game, one of the biggest Gay Pride parades in the world was happening downtown. I would have liked to have seen that. I�ve never attended one of those. I hear it�s wild.

After Harbourfront, we went to Alice Fazooli�s and had a magnificent crab dinner. I don�t think I�ve ever been served as well as we were in that place. Our waiter knew exactly how to make us happy. Anything we wanted was possible.

So tomorrow�s Canada Day. We have the day off and we�ll probably spend it gardening and we may even jump in the pool tomorrow. When it�s hot and muggy like it is now, I completely understand why people like having a pool. It may even be worth all the work and expense.

To those I love�and you know who you are��night.

Arc

Yipes! I just took the Your Likelihood of Committing Murder test. I have a 12% likelihood of committing murder. I'm surprised it's that high but I guess it's an acceptable score. That's not what worries me, though. Luvofmylife just took it too. She scored 32%. I better move into that apartment in Toronto pronto.

previous - next

Site 
Meter


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at 

DiaryLand.com!