ARCASHA

H E G



North 50

July 15, 2002 - 20:51

It was a pretty hectic weekend. We left for my old hometown on Friday morning to attend my parents� 50th anniversary celebrations. We spent the next six hours on the road. For the most part, the roads were good and so was traffic. It�s freeway for about half the distance and then it�s crappy little twisty roads through the forest for the other half. The drive through Algonquin Park is always lovely but frustratingly slow. I�m a tad aggressive behind the wheel so I did a lot of passing. I averaged about 140 kph (85mph) all the way up there. That�s nerve-wracking driving.

One disturbing event did happen on the drive up, though. We were following a string of cars with a delivery truck at the front. Suddenly, a fox ran out in front of the truck and was killed right there in front of us. Traffic was pretty heavy so we couldn�t stop. We missed the poor critter but it was an awful sight.

We got to my folks� place, and I was so whacked, I just went to bed. The next day, we went to get family photo�s taken at a local studio. That was fun. We all wore black and white � casual dress but pretty sharp anyway. Everyone played around and the photographer had a great sense of humour. There are lots of cute candid shots too. I might post some when I get �em.

Then we went around town and met up with old acquaintances. Enh! We ran into my uncle Snagglepuss. That guy�s nuts. The noise level goes up bye 30db when he�s around. I mean, he�s in his 60�s, for God�s sake. He�s just like a cartoon character. His arms and legs are flying all over the place his face is beat red, and he�s screaming at the top of his lungs. And he never knows when to quit.

The anniversary dinner was pretty typical. There were about 25 people there, mostly old, and I mean old, friends of the family. Lot�s of food in a tacky hotel banquet room. People gave speeches. My sister talked me into giving a toast. I love my sister very much and if it had been anyone else, I wouldn�t have done it.

Anyway, I talked about what 50 years means in this day and age - about deep, well-aged love, and I talked about how my birthday and their anniversary are really close together. They�re about seven months apart. My mother always told me I was born premature. I couldn�t be that premature. So I embarrassed my mother and everyone got a good laugh.

The next day, we drove that long grueling drive home. I found my favourite sweetie had returned and posted a bunch of stuff.

And now I�m back to work and I�m pooped.

Arc

previous - next

Site 
Meter


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at 

DiaryLand.com!