ARCASHA

H E G



Hyacinth

August 31, 2002 - 10:41

I guess I should try to get caught up on this diary.

Last weekend, I came home from the city by train. I was expecting the usual. Luvofmylife would be there to pick me up at the station and we�d take the 20-minute drive home. I was looking forward to that because I was pretty whacked from a long grueling week.

Instead, when I got off the train, she was standing beside a new Ford Focus. We don�t have a Ford Focus. So I�m thinking she got bored and bought a new car�that�s not like her. Then I saw my brother-in-law pop out of the driver�s side of the Ford.

DOH!

That can only mean one thing. My sister-in-law�s in the passenger seat.

If you�ve ever watched �Keeping up Appearances�, you�ll know what I�m talking about. My sister-in-law IS Hyacinth Bucket (Bouquet). The woman is evil. She�s a princess and an intolerably insecure social climber.

She�s also Luvofmylife�s twin. That is, they were born at the same time. However, there couldn�t be two more different people. Luvofmylife got all the goodness and SIL got all the evil. She�s loud, overbearing, rather stupid, materialistic, demanding�.agh! I�m running outa� breath.

So as I�m walking toward the Focus in slow motion, I�m thinkin� �Ugh, I�m not getting� laid this week�.

We lumbered off to our favourite restaurant and had a reasonably civil visit there and then we went home. Gadz, I had so much to do last weekend. The lawn had grown so high we could�ve held jungle maneuvers in the back yard. We needed to get ready for a pool party we were holding for Luvofmylife�s theater cast on Sunday. And the friggin� lawn tractor wouldn�t start. The last thing I needed were relatives.

We were having a pretty descent conversation around breakfast. However, SIL fancy�s herself as a �political junkie�. She really hasn�t got a clue. But she loves to hobnob with well-known politicians so she can drop names in conversation. She�ll say something like, �When I was in Halifax last week I was standing in the lobby and (some local nabob) came over to tell me how much he liked my speech.� This is where someone�s supposed to say, �What speech?� I never respond to statements like that knowing full well that she�s gonna tell me anyway. Sure enough, after a long enough pause, she twists in her seat making an expression that maybe she�d forgotten something crucial, apologizes for that, and proceeds to recount the mind numbing details of said speech. Uuuuuughghghgh! That�s sooo irritating.

Anyway, we dumped the in-laws at a winery on Saturday, I got laid, SIL and hubby left Sunday morning, the neighbour cut our grass and the party was a success.

I�ll do a separate entry on the party.

Arc

previous - next

Site 
Meter


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at 

DiaryLand.com!