ARCASHA

H E G



G'day

September 01, 2002 - 18:51

We went out for breakfast this morning at our regular weekend breakfast place. From there we decided to just drive around and burn off fossil fuels for the rest of the day. Once you get into the Niagara escarpment, the scenery gets really quite spectacular with rolling hills and wide vistas overlooking Lake Ontario.

We ended up stopping at a winery near the foothills. It was one that we hadn�t been to before because it�s kind of tucked away. So we decided to take a tour. Most of the vintners in this area run their establishments as all-in-one entertainment locations. Typically, there�s a restaurant, gift shop, wine sales and tasting counters, banquet rooms, live entertainment of one form or another and most of them do tours of their facility.

It�s quite instructive, particularly of the process, and I have a lot of fun quizzing the tour guides. They�re usually pretty women and they know their stuff. It�s kind of a flirty thing with me. I guess they see guys like me from miles away �cause they know that a bit of flirt will sell a ton of wine. Always works! And I don�t mind a bit.

We went to the patio where they were serving up gourmet BBQ (an oxymoron, me thinks) and it turned out the guy doing the cooking is an acquaintance of ours. We had a salmon platter and a couple of glasses of wine, listened to a really lame jazz band, had a tasting session inside, bought our schwack of wine and drove home.

The only drawback of the day was that we stopped at the maul for about an hour. Don�t ask me why, but we did. Gawd, I hate that place. We made our way to a Starbucks so that kind of made up for the maul crawl.

It was a good day.

Oh�and I got laid!

:-)

Arc

previous - next

Site 
Meter


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at 

DiaryLand.com!