ARCASHA

H E G



Sally

April 18, 2002 - 20:15

I've only ever had two long-term relationships in my life. My present marriage is in its twenty-fifth year. It started out as a passionate affair and, over the years, has become many different relationships in one.

We were really made for each other. We're both pretty laid back. We've never placed any unrealistic demands on each other. That's pretty much our formula for success. We let each other live our lives as we wish. We just happen to wish to do it together.

My other big relationship was with a girl I'll call Sally. That one lasted two years. She was 17 and I was 19 years old when it started. It was a typical teen romance, made up of a lot of angst, insecurity and infatuation. I'm certain that we only stayed together that long BECAUSE of our insecurities.

We were very close, however - inseparable. I spent more time at her place than at home. When I went off to study electronics, I hitchhiked back almost every weekend. Then I got a job a couple of thousand miles away and no amount of letter writing could keep that relationship together.

I guess I loved her, although I can't imagine why right now. My God we fought. I was no saint but she was probably the most manipulative little bitch I'd ever met. Everything we did had a condition attached. It was always "If you really love me, you'll do this. If you really love me, you'll do that. If you really love me, you'll get rid of that Led Zeppelin crap and come with me to the Glen Campbell concert." Yeah, I went. Bleccchhh!!

And she'd pout - silent treatment and all. And me, the dumb little bowser that I was, went right along because I thought I loved her. Actually, I grew to despise her and it took a squillion miles to bring our relationship to an end. Finally, she gave me an ultimatum and I took option B and that was it.

I swore I'd never get into another relationship like that again. Luckily, I didn't have to because I met Luvofmylife a few years later and I've been living blissfully ever since.

Luvofmylife has never had any problems with me having women friends - even friends that I love. There are limits, of course, but she's always been very good about that.

There haven't been many, but no one has been more dear to me than Girlofmydreams. However - and this is my point here - this time it was me who was being manipulative. I did a Sally. The very thing I despised about Sally's character, was now part of my behaviour. I actually presented Girlofmydreams with an "If you love me, you'll...

I'm so ashamed.

So now she won't speak to me and I don't blame her, really.

I'll never, ever do that again and I'll do anything to regain her trust. She's far too special to lose.

Arc

previous - next

Site 
Meter


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at 

DiaryLand.com!